The Spectacular Now

There are few movies that capture much of what I thought high school was like and what I wished it was like.  See, there was so much of me that wanted a serious girlfriend in high school for the longest time.  My friends grew sick of me whining about wanting a long-term relationship to the point that they didn’t want to hang out for a while.  Can’t say I blame them, but then again they never seemed to understand me longing for more.  Everyone else was just focused on sex – but I had a girl in Tecumseh I was waiting on so there was no rush to figure out my match.  What’s this got to do with the movie you say?  Well not much actually, other than here was another film that took me back to my late teenage youth and all the crap I was dealing with when all I wanted was a girl like Aimee (played by Shailene Woodley).  Like holy cow, I dreamed of finding a nerdy but nice and absolutely beautiful girl like her.

And for the record, any high schooler who puts lawn chairs in a kitty pool with tiny squirt guns to cool each other off is a genius.  That’s freakin’ genius, I wish I had thought of that back then.  You really should see this movie to see what I’m talking about.

Oh and for the record Shailene, if you’re out there and ever read this, I actually do think you are stunning and find myself blown away by your performances in everything you do.  Please come out to chill in Ann Arbor anytime, I think you’d like it here.

About nt3x5

I like cheesecake like no one's business.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

